Skip to main content

Rolling back from v5.2.5 to v5.2 or 5.2.x

This section guides you on how to roll back from Adeptia Automate v5.2.5 to Adeptia Automate v5.2.4, v5.2.3, v5.2.1 or v5.2.

InformationThis rollback guide is applicable only for the aforementioned version and cannot be used for any other version.

Prerequisites​

Before you start rolling back from v5.2.5, ensure that you have:

  • ​No Process Flows or Templates/Automations in queued or running state.
  • Deactivated all the dedicated deployments (if any).
  • Scaled down the following microservices deployment:
    • api-publisher-gateway
    • event
    • listener
    • runtime

Steps to roll back from Adeptia Automate v5.2.5​

Follow the steps below to roll back from v5.2.5.

  1. Locate and open the values.yaml file that was used for the target version.

  2. In the databaseMigration section of the values.yaml file, update the DB_UPDATE_MODE property to rollback.

  3. Ensure that the value for the variables are set as mentioned in the table below:

    VariableSection in values.yamlValue
    EXECUTE_STATIC_JOBglobal > statictrue
    EXECUTE_MIGRATION_JOBglobal > migrationtrue
    EXECUTE_CLEANUP_JOBglobal > cleanupfalse
    DELETE_RABBITMQ_STATEFULSETglobal > cleanupfalse
    DELETE_RABBITMQ_PVCglobal > cleanupfalse
    DELETE_RABBITMQ_CLUSTERglobal > cleanupfalse
    DELETE_RABBITMQ_CONFIG_SECRETglobal > cleanupfalse
  4. If you are switching from HA mode of RabbitMQ to non-HA mode or vice-versa, ensure that the values for the following variables under the global > cleanup section of the values.yaml file are set to true to delete the existing RabbitMQ resources before rollback. 

    WarningEnsure that there are no messages in running or queued state before proceeding.
    VariableDescription
    EXECUTE_CLEANUP_JOBSet to true to enable the cleanup job.
    DELETE_RABBITMQ_STATEFULSETSet to true to remove the existing RabbitMQ StatefulSet.
    DELETE_RABBITMQ_PVCSet to true to remove the existing RabbitMQ Persistent Volume Claims.
    DELETE_RABBITMQ_ClusterSet to true to remove the existing RabbitMQ Cluster resources.
    DELETE_RABBITMQ_CONFIG_SECRETSet to true to remove the existing RabbitMQ configuration secret.
  5. Ensure that all the remaining settings in the values.yaml file, except those discussed in this guide, remain as per the previous configuration.

  6. Run the following command to rollback:

Code

helm upgrade -i <Release Name> <Repo Name>/adeptia-connect --version <Target version, for example, 5.2.0> -f <Path of the values.yaml> -n <Namespace>

Post rollback steps​

After rolling back the application, you need to perform the following post-rollback steps:

  1. Scale up the microservices deployments that you scaled down before the rollback.
  2. Activate the dedicated deployments that you had deactivated before the rollback.