Skip to main content
Version: 4

Creating an Outbound Custom Transaction

A Transaction is created by using a Template. Therefore, before creating a Transaction, ensure that you have created a Template.

To create an Outbound Transaction:

  1. Provide the name and description of the Transaction. The name and description of the Transaction are generated automatically based on the selected Template. You can edit the Transaction name and description that can be up to 48 and 300 characters long.

  2. In the Select Project field, select a project with which you want to associate the transaction.

    InformationThe Select Project field is available only when you log in as a user with the Company Only role type.
  3. Click Continue.

  4. Choose whether you want to create this Transaction for internal purposes or for a specific Partner. For creating a Transaction for the Partner, you need to select the name of the Partner. 

    Information

    Only self onboarded Partners will be listed in the Select Partner drop-down list.

  5. Click Next to go to the Transaction Settings step. 

  6. On the Transaction Settings screen, do the following:

    1. Enter the details as described in the following table.

      Field NameDescription

      Contact User

      Email id(s) listed here will receive a notification email whenever the Transaction is executed successfully or if there is an error during execution. Multiple email ids are separated by comma.

      If Adeptia Connect is running on multiple environments and you want to receive the environment name in the emails, then you need to specify the environment name in the relevant property  (Account > Settings > Expand Application Settings > Common > Expand Personalization).

      When to notify the contact user thru email?

      Always: Send an email whenever a Transaction executes.

      On Error: Send an email if an error occurred during the execution of the Transaction.

      Do Not Notify: Select this option if you do not want to receive an email notification for Transaction execution.

      Email Notification Format

      This field is visible only when you have selected the Always or On Error option to send the notification to the user.

      Select the email notification format that you want to use for notification emails sent to the user for successful and failed Transaction.



      Default
      : If you select Default, the system will use the default email notification format.


      Customized Notification Format
      : If you select this option, a Custom Error Notification Format field appears. In this field, you can select an existing custom email notification format or create a new one, and use it for email notifications.

    2. Expand Advanced Settings to set the Logging Level, Repository File Retention, and Activity Logging Retention. The available options for the fields are as follows:

      • Logging Level- Use From Process Flow, INFO, DEBUG, and ERROR

      • Repository File Retention- Use From Process Flow, DONT DELETE, DELETE, DELETE ON SUCCESS, and DELETE ON SUCCESS EXCEPT SOURCE DATA

      • Activity Logging Retention- Use From Process Flow, DONT DELETE, DELETE ON SUCCESS, and NO LOGGING.

        To learn more about these options, refer to this page.

      The three fields (Logging Level, Repository File Retention, and Activity Logging Retention) appear on this screen only when the Template you are using is created by setting Routing Type to None. When you use a Template with Routing Type selected as either Content Based or Context Based, only the Repository File Retention field appears on the screen. 

      Information

      If you hide the Transaction Settings page using Select the steps which you want to hide at the time of Transaction creation option from the Settings screen while creating a Template, by default the following values will be set for the fields in a Transaction:

      • When using a Template with Routing Type as None:
        1. Logging Level: ERROR
        2. Repository File Retention: DELETE ON SUCCESS EXCEPT SOURCE DATA
        3. Activities Logging Retention: DONT DELETE
         
      • When using a Template with Routing Type as Content or Context Based:
        1. Repository File Retention: DELETE ON SUCCESS EXCEPT SOURCE DATA
  7. Click Next.

  8. Provide the value of the parameter corresponding to the variable name.

  9. Click Next to define the Target application account. 

  10. Select the account from the drop-down list. You can either use an existing account or create a new one. For more information on how to add an account, refer to Supported applications.

    Information

    Click Test to test the connection to your account.

  11. Click Next to provide the configuration details.

  12. After providing the configuration details, click Next. 

    InformationThe Target application account and configuration details screen differ depending on the Target application chosen in the Template you are using.
  13. Click Next.

  14. The next screen would be the Target layout screen. This screen appears only if the Partner needs to define the layout. 

  15. Select the format and layout from the drop-down lists. You can either use an existing layout or create a new one. 

  16. Click Next to encrypt data. 

  17. Select the Want to encrypt target file? check box to encrypt the target file. The below fields display. Provide the details in the corresponding fields.

    Field NameDescription
    Key ManagerSelect the Key Manager from the list. To create a Key Manager, visit Account > Security Settings. To create a Key Manager, click here.
    Key NameThe default value is the default.
  18. Click Next to define the mapping. This screen appears only if the Partner needs to define the mapping. 

  19. Click Save & Exit to save the Transaction.

    This creates an Outbound Transaction.