Skip to main content
Version: 4

Managing LDAP users and groups

Once you configure Adeptia Connect to use the LDAP server for authentication, you can manage users and groups in the LDAP server only. You cannot create or modify any user or group in Adeptia Connect.

Creating new users and groups​

You can create new users and groups in the LDAP server only. After creating an account, LDAP users can access Adeptia Connect using LDAP credentials. 

When an LDAP user accesses Adeptia Connect, a local copy of the user and the group to which the user belongs is also created in the Adeptia Connect database. 

Modifying a user details​

If you modify the details of an LDAP user then user details will get updated in the Adeptia Connect database when the user accesses Adeptia Connect next time.

If you have modified the username of an LDAP user then a new user will be created in the Adeptia Connect database with the modified name. You have to manually move the objects of the user to the new modified user.

Renaming a group or moving a user from one group to another​

If you modify the group name or change the group for a particular LDAP user then the modified group name will not be renamed in the Adeptia Connect database. When users access Adeptia Connect, a new group will be created with the modified group name and users will be a part of this new group. However, you can manually move the objects from the previous group to the new group.

Deleting a user account​

If a user is deleted from the LDAP server then the user will not be able to access Adeptia Connect. However, the user will exist in the Adeptia Connect database. You have to manually delete the user from Adeptia Connect.